threaded

Taking back time

I have this reoccurring problem.  I settle into a routine balancing life and writing when suddenly a family crisis springs up during the busiest season of my job, on a week when I have three different events to attend.  Once it starts it doesn’t stop.  Before I know it a month has passed and I feel depleted and pissed.  I feel like my to do list has sucked out my soul and I cry and feel sorry for myself.  It doesn’t matter that I packed a thousand things into the last month.  I honestly feel like I haven’t accomplished a single thing.

My fellow threaded blog mate Sammie, started doing something called free writing.  Basically, you’re supposed to write whatever comes into your head, not letting your pen leave the paper.  I’ve heard about this writing exercise for years but I never felt like I had the time to do it.  I barely have time to work on my book.  Free writing?  That’s for people who don’t have to work a ‘real’ job to pay bills.

So…she kept talking about.  How amazing it was, how it was changing her.  I was a little skeptical.  She told me it only took ten minutes out of her day.  Cynically, I thought ten minutes couldn’t change my life.  I needed a vacation, perhaps a financial benefactor.  Then and only then would I have time to write for fun.

About two weeks ago she read me an excerpt from one of her sessions.  It was incredible.  Brilliant.  And I felt like a kid on Christmas morning, dying to open my presents.  Could I actually allow myself to write for fun for ten minutes a day?

Last week I started doing this free write thing.  I haven’t done it every day, but when I do I feel this peace, like I’ve accomplished the most important task on my to do list.  So I’m wondering, am I the only person who feels totally overwhelmed by life out of control?  Is there something you do ten minutes every day that changes your life?

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Taking back time

  1. Crystal Gettings on said:

    Heck yes, Heather! Free writing has also helped me a ton! It was the ONLY way I actually would start writing more…again…since I was a child. I am so glad you are doing this! You are an awesome writer & I believe free writing helps us “free up” from the inside out so that we can truly let creativity flow.

  2. sammiebennett on said:

    I have adored your free writing pieces so much! And I agree that free writing can have a huge impact on living well. Love you so much, amiga lou!

  3. I’m right there with you, sistah. Life seems crazy out of control. I have to believe it’s just for a season, though. (Sometimes white lies are helpful.)

    The only thing I’ve started to do is journal a little more…and this is helpful. But now I’ll have to give free writing a try.

    Dab

Leave a Reply

