threaded

Behind the Art

I’ve been mulling this idea that artists are a kind of prophet.  That we are a part of a long tribal history of humans with one foot on earth and one in the unseen world.

proph·et n

1.            somebody who interprets or passes on the will of a deity

2.            somebody who foretells the future

3.            somebody who advocates a cause or idea

4.            somebody considered to be an inspired leader or teacher

Encarta® World English Dictionary © 1999 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved. Developed for Microsoft by Bloomsbury Publishing Plc.

I work at my art because I love it.  Because it’s my calling.  But it’s work.  It isn’t always easy.  Sweat, tears, blood too if writing was more of a contact sport.  I guess I could say there are times when it makes my soul bleed.

But then there are moments, when I enter into a different space.  Where time and reality are suspended.  And words come out onto paper that I’ve never known before.  And when I come back out of this ‘trance’, I look at the words punctured into my screen and I see truth and beauty that are not my own.  They are from somewhere else.  From God.

There have been moments when a book, a movie, a song take me to this same place.  And something rings in my soul and I know what I’ve just absorbed didn’t generate from a human mind.  It came from a place so big it defines my soul.  It moves me to BE.  It wills me to LIVE.  And that is a beautiful kind of prophecy.  It’s the kind of prophecy that heals.

 

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Behind the Art

  1. sammiebennett on said:

    So beautiful, love! I especially liked your thoughts on how healing can come from art. This is so true for me. I know undoubtedly that God has met me and healed me through writing (my particualr art form) more so than any other way.

Leave a Reply

