threaded

purpose

I always wonder, does an artist offer to the world the same caliber and effectiveness of help as say a humanitarian aid worker in a refugee camp.  Does what we do matter?  Does it matter enough to devote our lives to the work?

“Each one of you should use whatever gift he has received to serve others, faithfully administering God’s grace in various forms.” I Peter 4:10

I read this yesterday and I knew its what I would be writing about for this blog.  My mind pauses over every word, hanging on to the words because they are so clear and they make me feel…well like I have purpose.  Use…whatever gift (I) have received…to serve others…faithfully…administering God’s grace…in various forms.

If there was any doubt…whether I should dedicate my gifts to serving the world… whether being an arm versus an ear on the body makes me more or less important or necessary…

I now know.  I was given my talents for a reason.  To use them faithfully.  To touch lives by being faithful and honest to the call on my life.

I’ve repeated a lot of words here, only because I think they are that important.  God please help me.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “purpose

  1. Crystal Gettings on said:

    Thanks so much, Heather! I needed to hear this one.The same questions have rolled around in my head for a while:)

  2. Heather Ostalkiewicz on said:

    I was so thrilled when God plopped this verse in front of me because I’ve felt so much ‘less important’ because I don’t have the skill to be a surgeon or some big politician. Sounds crazy when I say it out loud:)

  3. sammiebennett on said:

    Ah wow. I so love this. I’ve never viewed writing as a way to administer grace in its many forms. Thanks for breaking this verse up for me. There is so much there. Love you, chica lou.

Leave a Reply

