threaded

On Oil and Miracles

There’s a story in the Old Testament (2 Kings 4) about a widow who has nothing to her name but a jar of olive oil. That’s it. But through that bit of surrendered oil, God does a miracle. It’s a short story, and I’m shortening it even more for the sake of this post. But I’m really glad this story is in the Bible.

The widow is scared, unsure, and desperate. She feels empty. All drained out. And I have most definitely felt like this as an artist. Like all I have to give are these teeny tiny scraps. I feel scared at times. What if it never happens? What will they think? I feel unsure. Is this what I should do next? How will it all work out? And yup, I’ve felt desperate too. Please, God, I want my writing to matter. I want to matter.

I think God understands all of this really well. He knows exactly where I’m at and exactly how much I have to give. But He isn’t limited like I’m limited. He can take my bit of surrendered oil and do His thing with it. The stories I write can grow and glint with something divine–something not of me. And there’s the blessing. There’s the miracle.

Have you felt drained recently? How do you proceed with creating when you feel that way?

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “On Oil and Miracles

  1. Crystal Gettings on said:

    Yes, it is especially challenging when you feel such a burning desire–like you absolutely know what you are doing is meant for you–but it is just not coming out yet…it is not the season for producing or harvest…maybe it is a season of learning and experience to fuel up for the next chapter. At least, that is what I hear some days. Thanks, Sammie, for encouraging the humble spirit.

  2. Heather Ostalkiewicz on said:

    I’m still asking myself the question what do I do when I feel drained. I think I tend to prioritize the wrong things, making something small and turning it into something way to big, and ignoring the really big stuff because I feel like it should be small. There’s a time for work and a time for rest.

  3. This post fit me perfectly today. I, physically, don’t feel drained. But, my creative juices do! I sit down to write and look at my pile of notebooks FILLED with content to pull from, but nothing grabs me!

    Maybe I need an Artist Date. This is what Julie Cameron says we need to do when the well runs dry. 🙂

    Or, just a walk in nature often helps too.

    Or, read others blogs. . .

    Sometimes, I think I just try to hard instead of letting my intuition guide me.

    Hmmmm. . . answered my own dilema here, didn’t I.

    Thanks for a great post Sammie!

    Shari

    • sammiebennett on said:

      Thanks for the comment, Ms. Shari! Oh how I feel you. Totally can feel creatively drained. I like this list of things to jog the juices, though. Especially the nature one. Went to the beach this weekend, and I was brainstorming story ideas like I haven’t done in months.

Leave a Reply

