threaded

the light roars…

As a long-time Christian I’ve spent a lot of unproductive years believing that Jesus was weak.  And, partly because of that belief, I spent a lot of years living a in a very deep dark hole inside myself.  But when God came charging in, his light roared and splintered my darkness.  And there are no words big enough for that moment…

That moment changed my art.  I’m not afraid to explore the dark and expose it because I know no matter how dark it is, the light can’t be shaken.  I want to be honest, truthful, faithful in telling the epic tale that has been told for centuries.  I want the people who read my work to find themselves in the story.  And I want them to know good wins over evil.  God has not forgotten the most broken.   He will never tire of waiting for the worst sinner.

I want those who experience my art to feel the light roaring as they come to the last word.  And by God’s grace, because I have been faithful to him and my calling, I’m praying they will find that they want more of God.  The God who is real.  The God who isn’t afraid of society’s outcasts.  The God who loves in a way that is so radical, so countercultural that we can’t help but want to learn more about him.  To me this is the purpose of my art.  The highest calling.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “the light roars…

  1. Amen and Amen! “The God who is real. The God who isn’t afraid of society’s outcasts. The God who loves in a way that is so radical, so countercultural that we can’t help but want to learn more about him. To me this is the purpose of my art. The highest calling.” Awesome, Heather.

  2. sammiebennett on said:

    So, I’d like to second Crystal’s double amen! “I want to be honest, truthful, faithful in telling the epic tale that has been told for centuries.” Me too. You put words to my wants, and you do it so beautifully!

  3. Kelley Lane on said:

    Perfect, Heather. You hit the nail on the head. It really makes me think of everything we saw in Africa, how it’s easy to get overwhelmed by what’s needed; and even all the darkness in our own nation. It’s easy to get weighed down by it. But our calling is to be the light. Thank you for the reminder!

Leave a Reply

