threaded

Well of Thankfulness

So, I have a confession. Well, it’s not that bad. I’ve just been running full steam ahead since the veil on my eyes has been lifted, introducing me to a wondrous world once again. I rediscovered my creativity, writing, acting and so much more. Most importantly, I learned how to distinguish truth from lies.

Somehow, between my job, sweet little boy, hubby, side gigs and friends, it has been working, but it’s been very busy. So much so that I knew a time was coming when I would need to take a step back and gaze at my life through another lens.

The other night I started reading Ann Voskamp’s book, One Thousand Gifts, and managed to pretty much weep through all of chapter one. I don’t want to give it away if anyone is thinking about reading it, but let’s just say that being a mom made this first chapter extra hard to swallow. I didn’t feel like crying. I didn’t feel like picturing what she described. But it was a gift in disguise. Her writing—beautiful, poetic—raised up my purest compassion inside. The story seared my soul.

As my tears flowed, so did thankfulness. Thankful to have what I have right now. Grateful to be where I am now. Overwhelmed by the ones I love. Appreciative to be who He fashioned me to be then, now and forever.

So, although my newly found creative self is always raring to go, I am learning to better sense when I need a stronger dose of basic, humanistic thankfulness dipped into my well.

Ann Voskamp on page 17—“I hunger for filling in a world that is starved.”

What have you read, watched, heard, thought or experienced lately that brought true thankfulness to your heart?

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Well of Thankfulness

  1. Heather Ostalkiewicz on said:

    I read One Thousand Gifts this past spring and it broke me open in such a humbling, beautiful way. Some day I will read it again and I know it will break me open again. I’ve been reading a blog from a friend of mine who is a missionary in Haiti with her husband and two little girls. I’ve followed this blog for several years and increasingly I find it brings this thankfulness and warm humanness back in my heart. I feel God when I read her stuff. http://www.mshaiti.blogspot.com/ in case anyone is curious.

  2. sammiebennett on said:

    Love this so much, Crystal Lou. I visited a friend last week who told me about this book, and then Heather Lou told me about it a few months ago. Thinking I might need to look into it… I absolutely love how you described “humanistic thankfulness dipped into my well.”

Leave a Reply

