threaded

What do you choose to value?

For the past two years I have thought more about what I value and why than ever before in my entire life. After a while, I realized that my downward spiral of inner struggles was directly related to a few concepts, one of those being my lack of valuing and feeling valued. I had to face the fact that I valued work too much. More accurately, I looked to work for affirmation because I had disregarded other interests. Also, I did not outline boundaries for work, family, friends or anything. Because of the imbalance, I had lost finding pleasure in pretty much everything.

But guess what? I sought help and the Great Helper answered me. Gradually, He drew me back to my first loves in life (a.k.a. writing and acting) and is still helping me rediscover my inner child. I feel peace, love, thankfulness and a hope that I never had before. He showed me how to value all things new again. I value the near-three-mile run that my sister and I just conquered; I value my parents—who they are and all that they are doing to help me with Harrison right now; I value the time I make to read at night; I value my writing; I value my courage to try new things; I value a sound mind. The list could go on and on.

By becoming more aware of what we value and expressing it genuinely, we will be freer as artists. We must reject any belief that tells us “Why is this happening to me?” and “Well, this is just how life is”. We have the choice to take action and live out what we truly value. He gives us the courage to do it. But the choice is ours.

What do you value through specific action in your life right now?

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “What do you choose to value?

  1. Has anyone ever told you that you look like JK Rowling

  2. No one has ever told me that! I’ll take it:) She is pretty. Now, in my late-twenties I have fully accepted the way I look and the way I am. Thanks for reading.

  3. Crystal it is so nice to see you are maturing and getting in touch with your inner man. You are a treasure to us and we love you so very much. You are beautiful inside and out. I love your blog!

  4. sammiebennett on said:

    I love this so very much, Crystal Lou! “By becoming more aware of what we value and expressing it genuinely, we will be freer as artists.” I love this and the correlation between self-awareness and freedom. Golden stuff, my dear.

  5. Mike Black on said:

    I must say you’re expressing so much that I’ve also just recently uncovered. Life is truely about being thankful for each and every day, blessings from God in so many ways, also by ommission. Choices are the ultimate to life, it appears you’re doing a great job, keep up the good work! Have I told you lately that I just love being your Dad?

Leave a Reply

