threaded

work [butt in chair]

Butt in chair.  That’s the phrase Sammie used not to long ago and it’s been rolling klutzy through my head ever since.  I was complaining about not having enough time to write.  And then I was crying about guilt holding me back from going to write when I finally did have the time.  And the whole time I was thinking why hasn’t God made this easy for me?  I mean he asked me to do this!

Here’s the thing.  God is love.  He’s not hovering above my head, silent and uninvolved and then critical when I fail to measure up.  He actually cares deeply about me and my work.  God is practical.  I tend to forget that. He fed five thousand people because he knew it was cruel and dangerous to make them trek the many miles it would take to get home.  He rained manna down from the sky when the Israelites were wandering through the desert because water and food weren’t accessible.  And after he created the world and all that is in it, he rested on the seventh day.  He knows what humans need.

So, bearing this in mind, I just finally asked him to show me daily available time I could take to write and then I asked him to give me the courage to take that time.

And he did.  Why am I so surprised?

1 Peter 4:10-11 “Each one of you should use whatever gift he has received [the calling God has placed on your life] to serve others, faithfully administering God’s grace in various forms [God calls us each to different things] …If anyone serves, he should do it with the strength God provides…” [It does not say if God provides, or he might provide.  God provides.]”

Now some questions for you.  What is the work you are called to do?  Is there something holding you back? Are you tired of trying?  Something making it feel impossible? Are you frustrated?  Ask God.  Speak gently and honestly with him as if he is your best friend.  He will answer.

I’d love to hear from you.  Has God provided?  Is he speaking?  Or is everything silent.  Is there a brick wall sitting in the middle of your road?

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “work [butt in chair]

  1. It looks like you have a great blog here, it’s awesome that you three are collaborating, that should make it really fun for you. 🙂 As far as callings go I’d like to share one that the word of God gives all of us, it’s from 1 Peter 3:15, “but in your hearts regard Christ the Lord as holy, always being prepared to make a defense to anyone who asks you for a reason for the hope that is in you;”

    So I have a question for you, what reason do you have for your hope in Christ, how do you “make a defense” for the truth of Christianity?

    • sammiebennett on said:

      Thanks for visiting, Jason! And yes, collaborating has been straight-up fabulous. In answer to your question, I would say the freeing work He has done for me personally. I would be such a different person if it weren’t for him.

      • That’s fantastic, I’m glad Christianity has had such a positive impact on your life. The reason I asked the question is because Christian apologetics is such an important part of Christianity, yet it seems many Christians have never heard of it. Christian apologetics is defending the Christian faith, or giving reasons to people for why Christianity is true, as 1 Peter 3:15 commands us all to do. Many Christians don’t know there are reasons from philosophy, history and science for believing the Bible. Consequently many Christians lose their faith or have a difficult time convincingly sharing Christ with others. So I like to discuss this subject with Christians and share what I’ve learned with them. To that end, I’d like to offer you a great article defending the faith, it’s by renowned apologist Professor William Lane Craig, titled Jesus’ Resurrection. Here’s the link:

        http://www.reasonablefaith.org/jesus-resurrection

        Please read this if you get the chance, and then comment me back here or at my blog letting me know what you thought. Also please share this article with your co-authors here. If you find it helpful and faith building, (which I’m sure you will), it’s the kind of thing you want to share with friends and family. It’s also a great witnessing tool. Often Christians feel a little intimidated about sharing their faith precisely because they don’t feel like they have any evidence to support it. But offering an article with evidence is very easy to do with an unbeliever, because they are trained by society to be interested in any claims to have evidence for something. That fact makes articles like this one really valuable.

        God bless!

  2. sammiebennett on said:

    Love this so much, Heather Lou! And I love your look at God as our provider regarding writing. Yes, yes, yes!

  3. thanks for this, heather! there are many challenges i face regarding the work I believe He has called me to do…and I feel that I have and will make mistakes, but that He is there through it all. I am grateful for the freedom and inner belief I finally grabbed a hold of after many years. His still small voice whispering consistent dreams to me in the daytime was the start…but now I struggle with focusing too much on my work/dreams and not taking the proper breaks I should, etc. I am praying for the right times to “go go go” and the right times to rest.

    • I soooo struggle with taking breaks too because I feel guilty taking time for writing. Then I fill the rest of my time with doing my other responsibilities and then I’m wiped. I guess that’s the other thing I need to pray is that will also show me the rest times I need to take and pray that he will give me the courage to take them!

Leave a Reply

