threaded

Trailing Beauty

I crave beauty. A brilliant sky. A yellow scarf. My child’s flushed face. These beauties stir me, and I hold them, replaying the image throughout my day. But beauty sinks deeper than baby skin and colors, of course. Moments are beautiful. People are beautiful. And oh-my our Creator is beautiful.

When I look at my life, and the freeing work He has done, I see trails of His beauty. Peace traded in for fear. Intimacy for distance. And warmth for iciness. The art that sticks with me, really nestles in deep, is the work that trails to this Beauty. In the dark, there is that flicker. In the quiet, there is that whisper. And in the struggle, beauty.

Because God is near the brokenhearted.

I love art that explores the broken. It doesn’t shy away from despair or pretend our world is someplace other than it is. But even in the scorched, beaten soil, the artist paints a sprout of green. This is so true of life. And I like art that reveals the very present Beauty here for all.

What about you? Do you search for beauty in art? Do you see God’s hand when you spot it?

Much love,

Sam

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Trailing Beauty

  1. I liked what you said about God being our creator, it reminded me of the website http://creation.com/, I highly recommend having a look. It explains the scientific evidence that God created the world just like He said He did in Genesis, and exposes the lie of evolution.

  2. Ah Sammie, I love every part of this…”…I see trails of His beauty. Peace traded in for fear. Intimacy for distance. And warmth for iciness.” and “But even in the scorched, beaten soil, the artist paints a sprout of green.” Reading this made me sigh and picture all that is beautiful as well as painful…it is what being human is all about. Thanks!

    • sammiebennett on said:

      Ah, thank you, my dear! Learning to see both the pain and the beauty. You have taught me a lot about that, actually. Love you mucho!

Leave a Reply

