threaded

Give us this day our daily bread…

I ignore the words because I am not in need of bread.  What do I need?  I need time.  I need someone to help me balance the five hats I’m wearing daily.  I need resources.  I need peace.  I need inspiration.  I need time to play.  I need time to sleep.  I need energy.  Bread is the least of my concerns.  Samantha Bennett said a few things recently that I haven’t been able to shake out of my head.  She inspired this post.

The mere word Christian does not encompass the amazing complexity of my relationship with God.  But suffice it to say a few years ago I happily gave up all plans, goals and hopes I had for my future and told God I would do whatever He wanted me to do.  In the middle of Malawi I’d had a taste of what God had planned for me and I realized it was infinitely better than anything I could ever cook up.

So I set out on trying to live a new way, asking Him to give me the plans for my life.  And then Life crept in.  And I ended up wearing a monument length of hats on my head and I forgot to ask God what He had planned for me.  And the amount of what I was doing was throwing out my back.

This week in two minutes flat, Sammie is sitting cross-legged on the floor, explains how God will literally give me what I need every day for the work He planned out for me that day.  My daily bread.  And she says that she’s found God’s plan for the day typically is a shorter to do list than what she would have written out.

What?  My knotted, aching back eased for a moment.  He’ll give me all that I need. He knows what I need to do today.  That includes my art, my marriage, and my mundane (i.e. groceries, laundry, cleaning toilets).  The Bible says He is a good God.  His yoke is easy, his burden is light.  He is a God of order.  He is not the author of confusion.  He is Love.  If the God who created lions, tigers and bears and the galaxy that extends beyond the border of our skies…then can I trust Him to guide me through my days, through my art, through my needs?

Do you trust Him?  I mean really trust.  When push comes to shove?  And then in the quiet, in the absolute happy times, are you willing, do you crave asking Him to give you your daily work and your daily bread?  I’d love to hear your thoughts on this.  I think you can tell I’m really processing this and seeking to work it out.

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Give us this day our daily bread…

  1. I can surely relate to this message. Sometimes I think that my days are endless and the to do list gets longer and longer. My concerns become over whelming at times and then it is time to go to bed and sleep. My mind is racing a million different directions like a recorder going on and on and there is no rest. I pray at night and during the day Oh, Lord is this the way life is intended for me. Have I failed to hear the soft whisper of His voice that I have heard before? Is life crowding His voice out so that it is not heard? I have to regroup and ask for help. God please, let me hear your voice again. Don’t let me get so busy in the day and night that I am not hearing His soft whisper to me. PSALMS 3:5-6 IS A VERSE THAT HAS BEEN BROUGHT TO MY ATTENTION OFTEN IN LIFE! TRUST IN THE LORD WITH ALL YOUR HEART, NOT PART OF YOUR HEART BUT ALL YOUR HEART, MIND AND SOUL.
    ONLY WITH HIS GRACE ARE WE ABLE!

  2. Heather, I feel like this often and I started reading a book this morning called, “Kingdom Journeys” by Seth Barnes, and all of a sudden, I realized that I really know nothing compared to the real love that God can show us. Seth Barnes encourages us all to take a physical Kingdom journey to places of hardship to see God in the eyes of those who are poor in spirit. This will shift us back into the every day love that God intends for us to shine through in our days.

    Amazing book. Toss it in your Amazon cart and you will not be disappointed.

    Shari

  3. The part that really hits me Heather is “And she says that she’s found God’s plan for the day typically is a shorter to do list than what she would have written out.” b/c of my experiences. Since I used to beat myself up so bad (no one will ever know), I remember the LONG list I placed on my plate every day. But now, it is delightfully refreshing to see how He helps me prioritize my days! So much more focused on just a few things and with a better attitude! Well, and boundaries helped a lot. Thank you Jesus! We always need to keep reminding each other.

  4. sammiebennett on said:

    Love this, Heather Lou! God is still teaching me so much in this department, but it’s the freeing kind of learning… so that’s encouraging. Love you so very much and love that I get to learn alongside you!

Leave a Reply

