threaded

When Joy Met Service

I remembered something big today. Writing makes me happy. I’m not sure how I forgot such a basic idea, but I did. See, I have experienced lots of extremes with writing. I’ve put it above everything else in my life, banished it entirely, and shoved it lots of places in between. We have history, writing and I. And because of this, I’m very intentional about the role of writing in my life.

And I think that’s good.

But somewhere along this path of intentionality I forgot how much I enjoy writing. Not all of it, mind you. Many times, it’s hard and messy and highlights my insecurities way too effectively. But there are moments when I feel so alive. So happy. So privileged to write this story.

And I think that’s great.

For many years, I thought if I enjoyed something too much, I couldn’t possibly be serving God. I thought service must always require both sacrifice and drudgery. But I don’t think that’s true. God feels joy when I find joy in the work He’s set before me.

And I think that’s amazing.

So now I pass the writer baton to you, reader friend. How do you find joy in what you create? Please do tell.

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “When Joy Met Service

  1. Thanks for this, Sammie! What awesome honesty to share your experience of “For many years, I thought if I enjoyed something too much, I couldn’t possibly be serving God. I thought service must always require both sacrifice and drudgery. But I don’t think that’s true. God feels joy when I find joy in the work He’s set before me.”

    I believe this speaks to many people, as it does me. Believers can become fixated on certain verses about “sharing in His suffering”, which is very true, but Jesus also came to give us life more abundant. If we are and feel alive then we can impact the world!

  2. I also think our work-driven (a.k.a corporate-centered, product-focused society) culture adds to this. If we enjoy something a lot, then sometimes we may feel like we shouldn’t do it so much, or be more “responsible” and take care of other things, etc. Now, I see so many distractions that could get in the way! And, I am noticing how much more I can impact others feeling more alive, than ever before. So, it is encouraging me to keep going, as I hope it does others!

    • sammiebennett on said:

      Yes! Crystal, I so get that! I see both perspectives you’re sharing, and yes, I have totally operated out of both those places before! And I absolutely agree that “if we are and feel alive then we can impact the world!” I remember reading a quote once about how much the world needs people who are fully alive. Amen to that. Love you and appreciate your motivational self!

  3. I really feel like I have to be intentional about being present in the moment. That’s where I really feel the joy. I’ve really been mulling over this concept that not all the tasks God gives us are drudgery or painful. He designed us to enjoy our work! That messes with my mind so much!

    • sammiebennett on said:

      I feel you, love! For the longest times I thought I got more “points” with God the more miserable I was in service. Which shows how twisted my thinking is. Learning that the idea of “points” is so contrary to the cross. Love you so very much, and so appreciate your openness as you’re learning!

Leave a Reply

