threaded

The Gem of It

I love talking about writing. It is easily one of my favorite conversation topics of all time. So I was talking to a friend this morning who feels a pull towards writing, but who doesn’t consider herself a “writer.” In her mind, a writer is someone who can manage pacing, plot, all that. Since she doesn’t do that right now, she doesn’t think of herself as a true writer.

Here’s the thing: this girl journals regularly. She pours herself out on the page. All of her pains, her fears, her prayers and hopes of the future. She is gut-level honest and easily one of the most self-aware women I know. She writes out the hard stuff.

This, my friends, is writing. This is the work, the blood and sweat, of swinging a pickaxe into the rocky places within and striking gems.

I’m learning to expand my definition of art. I’m a singer and a dancer even though these particular art forms are super private at the moment. ๐Ÿ™‚ That’s okay. I’m still creating. I can still find joy there and share it.

What about you, fabulous readers? If you widen the definition, do you see traces of art in your life?

Single Post Navigation

11 thoughts on “The Gem of It

  1. Awesome, Sammie! I think we are totally on the same page! As you said “Iโ€™m learning to expand my definition of art”, I was like “yes, I feel you!”. Our Creator can stretch us so much further than we ever first imagined. We only have to be willing, and believe that anything is possible. One small step at a time. Amen!

  2. And I truly believe that He can and WILL restore the singing, the dancing, the everything that makes you feel alive. B/c he wants us all to be alive.

    • sammiebennett on said:

      Thank you so much, motivator friend! I so agree that He wants us all alive, awoken with all the fear drained out. Love you mucho and love your encouraging self!

  3. I absolutely understand where she is coming from. I love writing, have been journaling the “gut” wrenching truths of my internal struggles since 12, (34 today). But I don’t have the “structure” that most writers have…or at least my mind tells me that they have.

    Thankful, to be followingyou ladies. Constant encouragement. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • sammiebennett on said:

      That is incredible! Have you saved all the journals? This kind of writing is the most challenging for me, so I admire that you’ve been doing it for so many years. That is straight-up amazing. Thanks for visiting and thanks for the kind words!

      • I have most of them. We recently moved and my very first ones I think were mistaken for trash ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I’m hoping they ended up in my keepsake boxes. One day my children will be shocked to see what moms life was like before I accepted Christ. Scary thought, but thankful they will see first hand what life in Him truly does to a broken lost little girl. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • sammiebennett on said:

        “thankful they will see first hand what life in Him truly does to a broken lost little girl.” My oh my that resonates with me! I want the same for my little girl. Hoping they ended up in your keepsake boxes too!

      • Sammie,

        Great news, wanted to share. My husband just found my journals ๐Ÿ™‚ happy day!!

      • sammiebennett on said:

        That is awesome! Yay for journals found!

  4. Crystal, thanks for opening up and reading! I have to tell you…it is a lie when the thought comes to you “But I donโ€™t have the ‘structure’ that most writers have”. For years, I believed a bunch of garbage that kept me from believing in myself and taking any action. So, forgive me if I come on a bit strong:) You ALREADY HAVE what it takes to write. Believe me. It comes from the heart, not technique, not intellect. That is what people relate to, hold on to…and ultimately, need to hear. That is what saves us. Jesus touched my heart years ago and that is what got me. All you have to do is be willing to write “rough” and from the heart, from your experiences, from your imagination. You can always clean it up later. That is what “editing” is for…I have learned this more recently. And if you don’t know what you are writing or how you will organize it later maybe, don’t worry about it. Just keep writing! That is the important thing. The more you do it, the more your inner self and heart will spill out onto the page, and you’ll be amazed:)

Leave a Reply

