threaded

CONFRONT

As soon as I read this passage from the book Boundaries by Cloud/Townsend, I knew I would be sharing it on the blog.  I highly recommend the book if you’ve never read it!  Here is a link to the biblical passage The Parable of the Talents (Matthew 25:14-30) that is referenced in the excerpt below.  It’s a quick read so if you are unfamiliar with it, take a second to read and then come back!

Our talents are clearly within our boundaries and are our responsibility.  Yet taking ownership of them is often frightening and always risky.

The parable of the talents says that we are accountable—not to mention much happier—when we are exercising our gifts and being productive.  It takes work, practice, learning, prayer, resources, and grace to overcome the fear of failure that the “wicked and lazy’ servant gave in to.  He was not chastised for being afraid; we are all afraid when trying something new and difficult.  He was chastised for not confronting his fear and trying the best he could.  Not confronting our fear denies the grace of God and insults both his giving of the gift and his grace to sustain us as we are learning.”

Fear is my nemesis.  But I read this and thought I have no more excuses.  But the truth is, at this point in my life I don’t want any more excuses!  I don’t have any more time to waste.  God help me I want to use what he gave me!

When it comes to your job/your talents (I think our talents are our job) do you struggle with fear?  What do you do to push past your fear?  What are you committed to doing no matter what?

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “CONFRONT

  1. You said it, Heather “Our talents are clearly within our boundaries and are our responsibility. Yet taking ownership of them is often frightening and always risky.”–this really resonates with me, love. And wow: “Not confronting our fear denies the grace of God and insults both his giving of the gift and his grace to sustain us as we are learning.”–that’s all I need to know! Thanks!

  2. sammiebennett on said:

    Love this!!!!!! So very much. Thank you for your honesty and beautiful wording. I think the coolest thing I’m discovering is the part about “his grace to sustain us as we are learning.” Learning implies something less than perfection, and that is so, so freeing. I’m learning. I’m in process. I’m not perfect. Amen. I can still breathe and walk and do what I know God wants me to do right now. And yes, I struggle with fear in regards to writing. I struggle that people won’t like what I write. That I’ll write something wrong. That I don’t have anything all that much to offer, so why am I writing, again? All that junk. Have to go to the whole God created me and has good works He’s equipped me to do. That mindset helps a lot.

  3. Wow! This is powerful! They way the Lord articulated this to my soul was with the story of 12 spies seeing if the Isrealites could enter into the land that God had promised them. 10 came back and could only see fear! They couldn’t see past the giants and into victory. But two of spies said, sure, there are giants in the land, but God has promised it to us! They were the only two of the original generation who left Egypt to enter into the promised land! God said to me, ” right now you echo in perfect harmony with the 10, but I believe you are one of the two!” and when He whispered my identity in Him into existence yet again, my warrior rose up and I declared, “I am one of the two! I will enter into everything you have promised me!” praise Him who makes all things possible! I’m incredibly blessed by your journey and vulnerability to share it with all of us!

Leave a Reply

