threaded

perspective

As an artist I need to see the big picture.  What is all this for?  What is most important?  And at the moment those questions have led me to one single question.  Who am I?

The daughter of Harold and Patricia

Wife of Josh

Writer-straining-to-become

Photographer

Nature lover

None of these answers correctly answer the question.  Me is not where I come from or what I do.  Me, I am a child of God, cosmically and lovingly sown together by His all-encompassing hands.  My soul, my spirit, my essence is a singing work of art – stars, maple trees, blue of the ocean, breathlessness of the mountains strung together.  I am a beautifully unique being.

At my arrival on earth, much of the singing part of me was buried in the rubble of our world.  Because we are, all of us, born into a war.  It is unfair.  War breaks us before we even know what unbroken is.  This war is aimed at destroying humanity.  Aimed at destroying the very essence that makes us, the very tie that connects us to our God.

So the big picture.  In this war-torn world, I am born to remind humankind of Him.  Him who saves.  Him who redeems the unredeemable.  Him who loves us every-single-moment.  The war has made us forget many things like true love and the One who created true love to begin with.  And the war stops us, me, from doing the work of remembering.  It takes perspective and intentionality to borough out of the rubble and become a rememberer.

The question of who am I lends me great perspective.  It is the beginning point on the map.  It is the northern star pointing me to God.  And it is a compass reminding me to stay on track, to do the work I was called to do and not become obsessively driven by the everyday stresses and ‘responsibilities’.

What is standing in the way of me and my calling?  I’m embarrassed to list them.  Everything from simple grocery lists to deadly lies that eat out my core.  God help me, I want to live life in a way that challenges our worldly perspective.  I want to be a bright, clear, burning reminder of the Great Love.  I’m called to do this in many ways, but specifically through writing.

What is standing between you and your calling?  If you were to plan one day of living life the way you believe God was calling you to do, what would it look like?  I have a feeling that if I lived one day the way I believe God was asking me too it would be one of the most responsible, productive happy days of my life.  I’m going to be experimenting with this idea.  I’ll report back as I gather results.

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “perspective

  1. “I want to be a bright, clear, burning reminder of the Great Love. ” — You are. Thank you for this! Truely inspiring =)

  2. Crystal Gettings on said:

    Speechless, Heather. So beautifully true. My heart started skipping when you said “My soul, my spirit, my essence is a singing work of art – stars, maple trees, blue of the ocean, breathlessness of the mountains strung together.” and then I feel like I held my breath reading the rest, just thinking “yes, yes…”. Thank you so much for this!

  3. sammiebennett on said:

    Ah!!! Now I know what Lorraine was talking about! Heather Lou, this was just gorgeous. “I want to be a bright, clear, burning reminder of the Great Love.” I am going to second Ms. Brandi in saying that you definitely are!!! In answer to your question, I think the biggest thing is fear of the future. I used to get so wrapped up in this thinking so, so often. And honestly, I can still go there. Even though the stay is typically shorter. Thank you for this poetry.

  4. Beautiful and challenging! Thank you!

  5. Heather, I am so glad I read this today! I needed some inspiration after a difficult parenting day! “I want to be a bright, clear, burning reminder of the Great Love.” I need to keep this goal at the forefront! Luv u!

  6. Heather Ostalkiewicz on said:

    I just want to say that God really gave me the words to write. It wasn’t at all what I had planned for this post. But I’m so glad to see a bit of the results of His voice!!

Leave a Reply

