threaded

long distance adventures

heatherThings are not nearly as pretty as I imagined them to be during my seven-year-old daydreamings on the picnic blanket.  Adulthood has a way of scrubbing childhood fantasies out of my soul with sadistic, methodical precision.  And since my childhood daydreamings turned out to be exaclty what God is calling me to do, that is a problem.

The sweeping epic tale of a writer who changes the scope of the world feels like a sham.  For me the everyday looks and feels nothing like adventure.  It’s rather mind-numbing, butt in chair when all I want to do is sprawl out in front of the television because I’m pretty sure my brain has reached full capacity and is now melting down in a hail of fire works and smoke.  How come no one told me it would be this hard?  God am I doing something wrong?  Why is the “calling” you placed on my life this difficult?

Just because it’s hard doesn’t mean I’m doing it wrong.

Just because it’s hard doesn’t mean I’m not supposed to be doing it.

 

Hebrews 12:1 (The Message)

Discipline in a Long-Distance Race

12 1-3 “Do you see what this means—all these pioneers who blazed the way, all these veterans cheering us on? It means we’d better get on with it. Strip down, start running—and never quit! No extra spiritual fat, no parasitic sins. Keep your eyes on Jesus, who both began and finished this race we’re in. Study how he did it. Because he never lost sight of where he was headed—that exhilarating finish in and with God—he could put up with anything along the way: Cross, shame, whatever. And now he’s there, in the place of honor, right alongside God. When you find yourselves flagging in your faith, go over that story again, item by item, that long litany of hostility he plowed through. That will shoot adrenaline into your souls!”

What are you persevering towards?  Have you stopped doing something you thought God called you to because it felt too hard?  Post your thoughts.  I really believe that as we share struggles and triumphs we will be able to encourage each other to keep going!

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “long distance adventures

  1. sammiebennett on said:

    “Just because it’s hard doesn’t mean I’m doing it wrong.” Oh, my love, how this resonates! Just, yes!!!! It can be crazy hard, right? Man, I’ve had to mourn the loss of this idyllic writing life I imagined and embrace this whole writing-in-bits-and-pieces-while-my child’s-sleeping thing. Love you, love you, and know there you will bless so many by persevering! I’ve read your memoir, so I can say that with authority!

  2. My how we all can relate to this, Heather! Naturally I used to have a “pie in the sky” view on those who wrote books, pursued acting, wrote music, etc. but now I see how hard it can be some times. When God has called us, we must follow the voice and believe that we can do “all things in Christ which strengthens us”…but on those days when doubt is creeping in, and I’m weak, it is so wonderful to crawl up in His lap and lay out all my burdens.

    I think I stopped breathing when I read: “Adulthood has a way of scrubbing childhood fantasies out of my soul with sadistic, methodical precision.” How true this is but doesn’t have to be this way! I pray every day that God would help me to encourage Harrison to dream, find his place/purpose, have fun, imagine, be bold, not be concerned with being “normal” in this society, etc. I pray we all would recover and rejoice in our childhood fantasies and dreams, in His name. Amen.

    • You just gave me the radical idea to actually pray that God encourages me in my purpose! Thank you. God was just telling me this morning again that when I am weak He is strong for me no questions asked, I just have to surrender.

Leave a Reply

