threaded

Drama Mama

crystalWho loves drama? I do! I do! In Julia Cameron’s book Finding Water (p. 50), she writes, “Artists love drama and when we do not create it on the page or on the stage, we often create it in our lives.” She refers to how often artists fail to use their God-given power—to create—and how they often experience an intense repercussion from ignoring the art within.

In my experience, I found this principle to be true. Before I began exercising my creativity as an adult (as a young child it came naturally, of course), drama seized my everyday thoughts. Even if I wasn’t creating drama for others, I surely was feeding it in my own mind, not standing up for mattered, worrying instead about what others thought and expected of me.

After exercising creativity again, my inner dialogue and external communication improved dramatically (no pun intended). Suddenly valuing creativity, I made time for it. I treated my artistic self like a child, supervising to make sure she was fed properly, thriving with love and kindness. Boundaries were naturally presented, protecting my mind, body and spirit from losing steam. God helped me distance myself from destructive mental and relational situations, all the while my relationship with Harry (hubby) took a turn for “awesome-ville”. Seriously.  I was amazed the impact one seemingly small decision made.

When I finally began doing the work artistically, my mental drama greatly diminished. But I want to know…what has been your experience with “drama”? Have you struggled with self-drama, creating it, or just giving in to it from others? Did you know that some people thrive on drama? They crave it like an addict desires drugs. It is my belief that these individuals are not putting in the creative work, provoking them to create drama in their own lives. It is important to be aware of the “drama-seekers” so you will not get caught up with feeding that addiction. Instead, why not encourage them (or hey, maybe it’s you) to pour that energy into creating?

Maybe you are all put together. Or maybe not. We are all human, prone to different, yet many of the same fears and neuroses. As artists, if we continue to do the work, even when we doubt it; even when we feel like we can’t go on, we stand strong against the resistance, forcing it to leave. It is a battle. The battle never ends, but it does become “smoother”. We learn to trust ourselves, our Creator’s voice within us, prompting everyday decisions which create our destiny.

Fully accepting that I am dedicated to drama—naturally in my bones—I am committed to keeping it “on the page and on the stage”. What about you? How do you keep drama out of your personal life yet in the art you bring forth?

 

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Drama Mama

  1. sammiebennett on said:

    This is super thought-provoking, Crystal Lou! And yes, I am one of those drama lovers. You know, when I’m actively creating, I do think there is less drama inside! Journaling and free writing come to mind. Both of those open me up to God and His ability to free up those knots inside. This post really has me thinking! Love you!

    • I’m glad, Sammie. Always something to think about:) I think you and I had a lot in common when we were younger…always pretending with characters, etc. Some of us love drama more than others and I’m glad I am aware of it so that I will keep all my inner drama to the page and on the stage…oh yeah and on film, etc. lol

  2. No one is drama free. Sometimes it is useful and sometimes it is not. This is very informative to me and I am so happy to see others actually struggle/ feel the same way. Well close to the same way. 😉

    • I would have to agree Robin:) We are all different (not a one of us is the same praise God!) yet many of us relate to the same struggles, which is encouraging to me. I remember when I was struggling with fear big time, not feeling good enough, etc. and I started reading stuff about it online via ministries and blogs. A light bulb went off in my head and I was forever changed…thank you Lord. Thanks for reading!

  3. Heather Ostalkiewicz on said:

    Oh my gosh Crystal!! This spoke to me big time. The whole thing, the intense repercussions of ignoring my artistic self, the treating myself as a child, feeding, excercising, the natural boundaries that come out of this new right way of living. So encouraging and as God always is, practical!

Leave a Reply

