threaded

What You Give as Artists

SamI’m experiencing something completely new to me. In the past, only a handful of people have read my writing. And they have been kind and challenging and all things wonderful. But now, I’ve set my little creation in the glaring sunlight of publishdom for all to see. It’s out there. I mean, just really, really out there for anyone to read.

And that is one of the scariest things I’ve ever done.

But if I hadn’t published Penumbra, I never would have experienced the gem of giving as an artist. People are talking to me about my characters. Telling me how they relate to so-and-so or how they were facing a trial and they envisioned an aspect of Penumbra to find strength.

That’s otherwordly. I mean, it really is. It is one of the most amazing gifts God, the giver of story, has ever given me. And I’m so, so thankful for every reader who opens the pages of my book and sees themselves, sees their questions and struggles, and maybe sees that they matter to a Creator who is kind and able.

If we widen our perspective to include “giver” alongside our definition of “artist,” I think we’ll find rest and joy from the weary ways of living. I don’t always think like this. To be honest, I don’t often think like this. But I want to. I want to adjust my “give me” attitude from receiver to giver.

What about you, fabulous reader? What do you think about approaching art from the stance of giving?

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “What You Give as Artists

  1. It IS such a gift, Sammie. It takes much out of each artist when what is happening is truly “giving”. I think that is why it is so important to “fill the well”, get renewed and do the things we must do to stay inspired. You gave a gift (Penumbra, in addition to many other things) and now, you are also receiving gifts back. People are now able to fully receive what you have been giving!

    • sammiebennett on said:

      Ah, I love it! And I love how you talk about “fully” receiving. That is something I’m learning too. Love you, friend!

  2. Heather Ostalkiewicz on said:

    “If we widen our perspective to include “giver” alongside our definition of “artist,” I think we’ll find rest and joy from the weary ways of living.” Sammie this really amazed me. Profound and simple. God continues to blow up my perspective by showing me again and again how his design for us, the world, community, is the absolute best path.

Leave a Reply

