threaded

6:00 a.m.

heather“Inspiration usually comes during work, rather than before it.” Madeleine L’Engle

6:00 a.m.

I pray for inspiration now at 6:00 a.m.  And I pray that my body will cooperate.  Getting the work done is one of the most obvious and crucial steps in being an artist.  And it seems like my entire life conspires against me.  Time?  Time is a commodity.  Time is just as valuable, sometimes more valuable, than actual money for me.

I recently read this great post from Write with Warnimont about writer’s anxiety.  It was a very direct look at the causes of and solutions for the anxiety.  What jumped out at me was my need for a major overhaul in the time management department. I’ve found that God uses practical solutions as well as miracles and in this case, He was pointing me straight towards practicality.

So…in full disclosure, at the moment, one out of every three days since reading this post I’ve gotten up at 6:00 a.m.  I’m gathering up the guts to actually shoot for at least 2 out of every 3 days.  And I am currently dancing around the idea that my google calendar might actually be my best friend.  Schedule, schedule, schedule.  For the first time that word actually seems like a key to freedom instead of oppression.

That’s all for now folks…please feel free to send me notes of encouragement or kicks in the pants…whatever you feel is warranted.  And yes, my dear friends, artists, mothers, scientists, business tycoons…whoever you are, whatever you do, I would love to hear what practical ideas you use to open yourself up and push you further into your calling!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “6:00 a.m.

  1. How much I relate sweet Heather. While doing the work is part art, part discipline, part just plain drive…doing the work does ward off oppression. It is a key to freedom, as we make the choice to act, and not wallow in worry, doubt, fear. It excites me to read this and how much you value time. What a crucial resource it is. Money can always be made back, given, etc. but time is here for the now, and then it is gone. I pray that we can capture each day.

Leave a Reply

