threaded

the rocks will cry out

heatherTo set the scene, Jesus is riding into Jerusalem on a donkey.  The crowd is cheering him in, throwing their coats down on the road in front of him.  By this point the disciples had witnessed a lot of miracles, things they couldn’t explain away, things that excited them.  I think, as they felt the energy from the crowd, they had only one choice.  Sing out!  Sing about how amazing this Jesus was that they had been following.

“Some Pharisees from the crowd told him [Jesus], “Teacher, get you disciples under control!”  But he said, “If they kept quiet, the stones would do it for them, shouting praise.”  Luke 19:39-40

The very cells in my body hum and vibrate the words, even before the words leave my pen or my mouth.  In the last couple of years I’ve found a new passion.  Translating what God has done, who He is, into words that my fellow humans can ingest and hold onto.  We need all the healing truth we can get in our broken world.  But I know, if I turn my back on my calling, my art, God’s voice won’t be silenced.  But I will have missed out on some of the greatest work I will ever get to do.  And I will miss out of the perfect joy it brings.  So I am singing out!

 

What is the last act of ‘singing’ you have done?  Are you in the middle of singing right now? I’d love to hear from you!

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “the rocks will cry out

  1. Love your blog! We all should be singing this song! I’m singing through a rabbit and a new book, “A Rabbit’s Tale An Easter Story” and I’m singing through things in everyday life. You go girl!

  2. sammiebennett on said:

    Ah, amiga, this is so gorgeous and so fabulous to read before sitting down to write. Amazing! I love your perspective, that others will sing God’s song–it will never stop. But we have the choice of whether or not we want to join in. Love!

Leave a Reply

