threaded

words to build life on

heather

I’m always thankful when I find material to write on during devotions.  One of God’s kindnesses to me!  I just finished reading chapter 6 in the Message version.  And it had me re-examining my life in many areas but let me just tell you the part in context with living as a Christian with a calling (people we ALL have a calling…mine happens to be writer/artist.  I’d love to hear what yours is!)

“There’s trouble ahead when you live only for the approval of others…” [Luke 6:26 MSG]

I have a great way of trying to make myself feel good by pleasing others.  I call it Christian duty.  I act like if I can make everyone happy with me, my life will be peaceful and happy.  I can turn phone calls, finances, laundry, cooking, and a host of other responsibilities, big and small, into my Christian duty.  And it’s true, we are asked, expected, to do many of these things with good reason!  However… my motivation, my focus is wrong, and this is how I know…

I still have this nagging sense of guilt.  Heather you should also have done… you know she will be mad at you if you don’t… they must think you hate them because you didn’t…  But it’s nine o’clock at night and now feeling guilty and exhausted.  And to top it off, I feel unfulfilled, like I’ve accomplished nothing.  And then I’m simply an unpleasant person to live with.

I told you all that I have started writing at 6 a.m.  Not everyday, but on days when I have to leave early for work and won’t be home, this is what I do.  I’m not a night person so mornings work best for me.  When I do this, I have a sense of peace for the rest of the day because I did my work.  My work, the work GOD called me to do.  And somehow, the rest of my work goes a little easier.  Making God-pleasing the focus of my day changes things.  Shock!

I am a work in progress.  This idea of putting God first and what he’s asked me to do is a very new concept for me.  And it hasn’t been a smooth process.  Still isn’t.  But it’s better than where I was before.  God gives us life changing, freedom making solutions.  He speaks them into us through many ways, the Bible, music, friends, life events.  What are we doing with the truth he’s giving us?

“These words I speak to you are not mere additions to your life, homeowner improvements to your standard of living.  They are foundation words, words to build life on.” [Luke 6:47 MSG]

I would love to hear from you!  Are you struggling with fitting your calling into your day?  Has God shown you a way to fit your calling in hectic/confusing life?

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “words to build life on

  1. Um…I needed to hear this today. This is me. These words you’ve written are exactly how I feel. I worry and try my best to please others. Thank you for this verse: “There’s trouble ahead when you live only for the approval of others…” [Luke 6:26 MSG]

    I needed it today.

    Dabney

  2. sammiebennett on said:

    Ah, Heather Lou, how I love this. This absolutely resonates with me. I have experienced the fickle waves of people pleasing. They thrash me like crazy, while God-pleasing is easy and light. He said as much about his yoke and the load we carry. Oh my, I agree with Dabney. I needed this today. Thank you for getting up early and sharing your talent with us, even though we haven’t gotten to read it yet!

Leave a Reply

