threaded

“Patches of God-light”

heather“Patches of God-light.”

[a C.S. Lewis reference to God-given epiphany.  The kind of epiphany we artists sweat out our days for.]

Patch me in, please God.  I need light, it is my oxygen.  I need you or I live in dark places that are tight and stifling.  I want to wake with my day wide open, with inner warmth, and clarity of mind.  I want to wear my hair up, a badge of honor, because the day required many words sweated out for you.

I don’t do life anywhere near perfect.  I am not a tidy Christian, a lace and pearl wife, a famous friend, an artist extraordinaire.  I’m more fight than calm.  But I fight for truth and peace and freedom.  Because my world is at war.

In happy accident I find one, two, four and more who are fighting too for peace, for freedom, for truth.  I count them as friends, as comrades.

Truth comes like light.  Like patches of light.  And I soak it in through the photosynthesis of my soul.  The truth, the patches of light, are much softer than I ever imagined they would be, much kinder too.

Fill my days God, with your patches of light.

 

Write a little prayer and post it up!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on ““Patches of God-light”

  1. sammiebennett on said:

    So the words startlingly beautiful come to mind. Oh my, Heather, this is gorgeous! “I am not a tidy Christian, a lace and pearl wife, a famous friend, an artist extraordinaire. I’m more fight than calm. But I fight for truth and peace and freedom. Because my world is at war.” Heather Lou, I am so incredibly thankful for you and your zest and fight. I read this and feel so thankful and jazzed to be a writer and warrior artist. Love you!

  2. Incredible! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

