threaded

Lying Still

Lies are an odd topic for a ‘good, Christian girl’ like me. I laugh and tell people I’m not a liar. When I lie my face burns hot, my tongue trips, and I can’t hold eye contact to save my life. But recently, in my pursuit of freedom, I’ve found myself digging out of a mountain of lies.

When I felt pain, I told myself it wasn’t pain and buried it down deep. When I felt fear, I told myself I wasn’t afraid and I ran far. When I felt anger, I told myself it was wrong and held onto a crackling, happy smile.

My lies added up to one terrible cost, a life of depression and the death of who God made me to be. And I, a being meant for great movement, was left lying still.

My lies cast dark shadows and my being doesn’t give off the light of the One Who Saves. This world needs all the light it can get, but I’m left unable to speak about freedom. My lies deaden my senses and I can no longer trust myself. Trust is necessary to make to decisions and to create.  My lies steal my ability to truly love. Without love I become isolated.

Lies are one of the Enemy’s greatest weapons, because ultimately, the crime is pinned on me. Until…The Great Love rescued me again. I write because I’m free. I write because I believe fewer and fewer lies. I write because I can’t help but speak about Hope.

Do you lie to yourself? Are the lies holding you back from what God created you to do?

“It is for freedom that Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery.” Galations 5:1

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Lying Still

  1. Wow! yes! this is amazing! Thank you!

  2. Heather Ostalkiewicz on said:

    To quote a friend…”He’s worth it every time you say yes to Him no matter how deep the pain or how intense the stretch.” Thank you friend:)

  3. Stunning! And beautiful and freeing and fierce and I love it. And you.

Leave a Reply

