threaded

do you dare believe?

IMG_0360“Now Job hears and experiences God for himself. After that encounter, his perspective recalibrates from a focus on the why to the who, all of his questions scuttle off, replaced by the knowledge that God graced him with his presence.

The enormity of God is revealed.

Everything becomes right-sized in Job’s world.

Still covered in soot and scabs, Job confesses something he has known all along deep down inside: God can do anything and everything, and no one and nothing can upset the plans of God.”

[Wonderstruck by Margaret Feinberg]

I’ve tried to fit my wrong-sized thoughts into a God-sized calling. I’ve tried fit bloated lies into God’s construction by shaving them down with my human explanations. And I’ve tried to make myself so less than that God, and everyone else, could become right-sized. But all my efforts have just atrophied my world, my mind, my calling, my heart. Until He spoke:

“Where were you when I laid the earth’s foundation?
Tell me, if you understand.

Who marked off its dimensions? Surely you know!
Who stretched a measuring line across it?

On what were its footings set,
or who laid its cornerstone—while the morning stars sang together
and all the angels shouted for joy?

“Who shut up the sea behind doors
when it burst forth from the womb,

when I made the clouds its garment
and wrapped it in thick darkness,

when I fixed limits for it
and set its doors and bars in place,

when I said, ‘This far you may come and no farther;
here is where your proud waves halt’?

Job 38:4-11

I hear his rumbling answer, raging, capable, and I feel a strange peace. Do I dare believe in this wild, untamed God? But His words bring a feeling up from deep within me. My world suddenly feels right sized, and I feel a curious strength in my reliance on Him. And I say to Him, I will trust in you Great Creator.

Has your world taken gone terribly misshapen? Do you believe you can feel right-side up even in the midst of hard or tragic circumstances?

There’s a good chance quite a few of the next few weeks of posts will be inspired by Wonderstruck, so be prepared to want to buy the book!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

