threaded

the richness of lives undone

This is one part of a mini series about love:

“Love is a choice,” one sage soul said to me before I got married. I was too polite to argue with her but I knew, in the glowing light of my affection for my fiancé, that love wasn’t a choice. It was a magical feeling that would transform my life. How unromantic to choose to love! Love was blossoms and golden sunlight and all kindness. Love made life bearable.

I’ve been married for seven years and that one line of advice is literally the only one I can remember out of hundreds of well meaning words from other people. I never expected to write about love on this blog but God has been pressing his fingers into my heart and love is the topic of the hour.

Seven years. It’s almost ironic that this biblical number has become such a significant mark in the life of my marriage. I am no longer the woman I was on that blue-sky, October day, walking down the stone path in my wedding dress. He is no longer the waiting man in the black tux and tie. Today when our fingers touch there is more in that moment than simple maturing that comes with years. There is a knowing.

We are, and are still becoming, lives undone.

Seven years of being undone, to be precise. Seven hard years to redemption. In that space pain, disillusionment, anger, confusion, hopelessness, squirmed into every crack and cranny. Truthfully, I, the girl who dreamed of romance turned bitter. I stopped reading about love. I stopped watching sweet movies with happy endings. I pasted my lips into a tight line in front of young lovers. And I asked God why he would strap me into a lifelong commitment full of disappointment. I blamed my predicament on my husband, on my brokenness, on God. I saw love, life itself, as a fight. I was the weary soldier. And I was alone.

But God was present. He didn’t speak in shouts. That’s not what I needed. He didn’t cut long, unrelenting lines of truth in my soul. That’s not the way of love. He asked for surrender.

I want your heart, the Great Love whispered to me. He whispered this line over and over through those seven years. What I didn’t understand was that love could not begin until it began with Him.

I’d love to hear from you! Do you believe your heart is central to you and how you live your life or is it more superfluous? Do you trust your heart or believe it’s dangerous? Do you let anyone near your heart or do you hide it away?

Stay tuned for part 2…

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “the richness of lives undone

  1. Lorraine on said:

    Congratulations on seven years…but more on leaning into the truth that God has placed you into relationship with your husband to draw you closer into relationship with him. His love is wild and dangerous, because it requires us to let go and follow him with abandon. Love you and so grateful for the way that he has gifted you to write.

  2. Heather Ostalkiewicz on said:

    “His love is wild and dangerous”…perfectly said:)

  3. Just yesterday the Lord was showing me how apart from Him no one is capable of truly loving- how apart from the purity of knowing how loved we are by Him, our “love” actions always have an off motivation- thank you for the affirmation of that truth. THIS WAS OUTSTANDING Heather! I am so thankful you say Yes to the Father and share what He impresses in and through you! Your work is a gift in my life!

  4. Heather Ostalkiewicz on said:

    you’re so right…without knowing how perfectly we’re loved by the Great Love, we aren’t able to truly love others! looking forward to seeing you soon:)

Leave a Reply

